Written @ 6:49 p.m. on 2007-05-07
My life in 21 Steps

I am a woman who has had many spectacular adventures, and I plan to have many more. I tend to look at life like a whimsical children's book full of zany exploits. When I mess up, it's easy to shrug and say, uhoh! here's another zany exploit!
Here's a list of adventures, so far-
1. When I was 9, I walked 18 miles up and down a mountain in the adirondacks with my dad. It took me two days.
2. When I was 11, I won a state-wide playwrighting contest and convinced myself I was destined for greatness. Opinions have varied on the subject since. This is also the year that I discovered alternate realities and started astral travel and messing with ouija boards.
3. When I was 15 I drove with my dad from New York to Montana. I saw a Cubs game in Chicago, and Mount Rushmore, and The Sturgis Bike Week. In Montana there was an infestation of grasshoppers. My dad took me to see my ancestral homestead, and it was covered in thousands of bugs. I never want to see another grasshopper as long as I live. Also, did my first past life regression, joined a coven with my sister, and began studying Wicca.
4. When I was 17 I moved out of my parents' house. There was a lot of turmoil going on there. My mom offered me her cabin rather than living on the street, which I was preparing myself to do. I lived alone in a my parents'cabin in the woods with no running water, no heat, and no car. It was the best time of my life.
5. When I was 17, I met a boy on the train and ended up kissing him in the tiny train bathroom. I missed my stop, and when my parents said,"HOW COULD YOU MISS YOUR STOP???" I said,"Opps! I was in the bathroom!" It was the truth.
6. When I was 17 I made love in the window of a NYC skyscraper.
7. And I travelled to LA by myself to look at colleges.
8. When I was 18, I came back home. I made a deal with my mom I would stay until the moment I graduated. After graduation, I moved in with my (now ex) husband. He was 33 and about 300 lbs. I thought we were fabulous eccentrics. We had a game of lots of risk-taking adventures. I didn't know yet that I was an adrenaline junkie.I got a tattoo.
9. At 19, I moved to LA to attend college.
10. I slept on the side of the road next to train tracks, on the beach of lake superior, and in dirty hotels in Las Vegas. I attended the wedding of a russian bride in vegas.
11. At 20, I got married in a black dress in Tahoe. N. was born. I realized that my ex was a really disturbed man. It was obvious all along, but I was too distracted by all of the circus we created.
12. Left school, had P. Moved back east and lived on a farm full of hippies. Ex became very scary, manipulative and controlling.
13. At 22, lived in an fancy hotel in DC with the two babies. My ex was supported by his company to be there. Ate continental breakfast every day and always had fresh sheets. Became truly afraid of my ex.
14. At 23, I left the ex just by the skin of my teeth, with the two babies in tow. Ran to a battered woman's shelter with absolutely no money, no family, no friends, no job, and no driver's license.
15. Lived in a crack hotel, and lived with the scariest man I could find because I was afraid my ex was coming to kill me and get the kids. Lost 30 lbs in about a month.
16. At 24, got a job, car, house. Still with the scary boyfriend.
17. At 25, lost my children. My ex finally got what he wanted through lies and manipulation. Dark, dark time. Went home to my parents, where they fed me and I was a complete zombie. Lost all I owned, job, home, money, health and the scary boyfriend. Went for walks at night, in the woods, in the snow, and yelled at god. Moved to PA and got children back.
18. At 25 and 26 I had no adventures. Can't think of one, accept the adventure of being really tired and really poor. Ex remarried and I felt replaced as a mother. Worked my ass off to heal. Broke out in spots, lesions and hives. Doctors couldn't explain. Naturopath told me it was anger and trauma leaving my body. Healed back at my cabin in the woods. Tattoo boyfriend saved my life.
19. Oh, one adventure, tattoo apprenticeship.
20. At 26, I met B. Not an adventure-nice, normal, sweet.
21. I got my awesome apartment. Got my bunny. Got a bunch of material stuff. GOT CUSTODY!!!!!!!!! Started whitewater rafting. Started attending circles. Quit my dumb job! Started feeling happy! HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY!

What's next for me to get into????

0 comments

before || after