Written @ 9:11 p.m. on 2007-04-08
Most Excellent Anti-Easter

It's Easter, and the children are tucked in bed with visions of sugar plums dancing in their heads. Wait, no, wrong holiday.
I tried to be wiccan, and set out Ostara baskets at the equinox. They were full of wholesome, nature oriented goodies, but the more I resist, the more Easter holds on to me with its sharp little bunny fangs. I receive gracious invitations and frilly easter dresses for the girls, and what use is the later without the former, and then it's just too late- away we go, it's Peeps and fake plastic grass for everybody!
Did you know that the more you resist something, the more you actually attract it into your life? Try it, its is so annoyingly true.
So, this morning there were no Easter baskets set out, but we had lovely bagels and smoothies for breakfast, and cleaned the real, live bunny cage (because real bunnies, unlike easter bunnies, poop a lot). We read the Bunny With The Golden Shoes (highly recommended for the elementary set)and made The Best Easter Card Ever out of old magazines, popsicle sticks and a cut up cardboard box. It was snowing pretty aggressively, but didn't stick because, hello, it's spring! It's been doing that all week...snowing like mad, but melting as soon as it hits the ground. It's a pretty neat trick.
As the afternoon drew on, we made ourselves as beautiful as we possibly could,with nail polish and hairdryers and stockings. I realized I have no pretty easter-y clothes. I didn't get a frilly easter dress, cause that's kid's stuff, people. I have hang out clothes, and I have business clothes. This was very frustrating, but I went with grey pinstriped pants and a pink teeshirt with a japanese looking flower design on it,black high heeled boots and black gummy bracelets,with make-up, and decided that I looked fresh and springy, casual-yet- pulled together, bohemian in my not-matching-ness.
The girls were gorgeous, of course, and we were set to head over to my man's family shindig. B.'s mom went overboard. She set up an egg hunt in the backyard, made peanut butter AND cocanut eggs from scratch, AND gave the girls lovely easter baskets. The menfolk watched golf (on purpose!)and made fun of Tiger Woods before admitting how jealous they are of him. The girls were generally good, but the whole situation gives me a bit of an ulcer because I am always on the look out for the little-kid-induced disaster.*Whoops, hope that wasn't an heirloom!*
After dinner, B. invited us over to the wrestling shop so that he could throw the girls about the ring a bit. Yeah, my man is SO cool, he HAS a WWF-style wrestling training center and we can hang out there whenever we want. I was still stressing about dinner, but the girls were all excited at the suggestion, so it was home to change, and then over to the ring. How sexy does my man look, in his cowboy hat, tight jeans and boots, throwing my darling angels about the wrestling ring? P., age 5, flaxen hair and rosy cheeks, was running around in a referee's shirt that went down past her knees, yelling, "You want a piece of him?!" It's heartwarming. I drank coffee and watched like an old woman because I made pig of myself at dinner and was feeling grumpy. And I'm allergic to exercise.
Buckets of kisses were kissed all around, and my cowboy is off to watch the Sopranos, and the angel-babies are off to dreamland. A pretty good Easter, for not even trying to celebrate, right?

0 comments

before || after