Written @ 7:33 p.m. on 2007-04-09
Why The Aquarium Sucked, except for the jellyfish

Well, we went to the Aquarium today, and I think it would have been much nicer to climb a mountain, make a circle of stones, collect some firewood,and burn about two hundred dollars.
Fuck! Tank of gas to get there, a toll road and a toll bridge, 7.50 for parking, 25.oo x 4 for tickets, 15 for face painting ( ok, it was REALLY cool face painting), 18.00 for lunch even though we brought our own drinks, and then WE COULDN'T SEE ANYTHING BECAUSE IT WAS SO MOTHERFUCKING CROWDED! Grrr. B. neglected to tell me beforehand that he has a major phobia of crowds. 9 blissful, happy months together and I had yet to discover this about him. He responds to said phobia by freezing like a deer in the headlights,wide-eyed but grimacing. Try it yourself. You will look like a deranged psychopath, which is kind of what he looked like, a scared psycho giant in a sea of munchkins. Poor man, he didn't want to complain, so he just kinda stood there, tight as a bowstring, and not enjoying a thing. I asked him if he wanted to get his face painted like a Pearl Princess like me and the girls, and he just looked at me, Christopher Walken-style,as if he had never seen me before, and said, "No, I'm trying to quit." Hahaha. Poor, poor guy.
There were sharks, and some really, really amazing jelly fish, and hippos, which are a personal favorite of mine, but with the girls going in opposing directions, and B. about ready to hurl, AND being stepped on and elbowed by countless girl scout troops and church youth groups, I really spent most of the day wanting my money back.
In the afternoon, the crowd thinned, and we returned to some exhibits we had trouble absorbing before. Do you know what a surreal creation of the goddess the jelly fish is? There was a tank that was 20 feet tall full of these glowing, undulating, ethereal beings. How is that alive? It has no form. I stood there for a good ten minutes, in front of the tank with my jaw hanging open. It's so fascinatingly beautiful. I think I will dream of them tonight.
Now we must wash off this super-cool face paint because tomorrow is a school day. Goodnight,chicadees.

0 comments

before || after