Written @ 9:25 a.m. on 2007-04-12
Naps is all it was!

God damnit. See how quickly the addiction takes hold? I'm not sure if anybody is reading this stuff, though, which might actually be fine. If you do wander through here, could you leave me a comment so I don't feel so alone in outer space?

My daughter P. has been beastly cranky lately. Just for backround, she's 5, she's extremely bright, and her whole life she and my older daughter have dealt with some vicious custody issues,homelessness, and some serious poverty. Lately my ex has been putting pressure on the kids to live with him all of the time, like they have any control over the custody situation. He sits and holds them before they come to my house, and CRIES. He tells them that he is SO SO SORRY that they have to come to my house, that he is working as hard as he can to get full custody. Great, right? Fucking awesome.

So, my 5 year old's brain has been a little stressed and this has come out in being very, very picky about what she will eat, and by being terribly negative. Imagine a miserable goth 15 year old in a 5 year old body. " I hate everything. I hate life. What is life? A black dead bug with other bugs eathing it. I forgot my algebra homework." So not cool. Yesterday when I picked her up from daycare she said,"Can no one talk to me right now? I want to play by myself. Mom, just keep N. away from me. Tell her I'm sitting and watching MY movie BY! MY! SELF!" Ok? So you get the idea.

So, I've been home with her as much as I can be, and just smothering her in the one-on-one attention. In the morning, we all walk N. to school, and then P. and I walk to daycare together. I try to talk to her about all sorts of things at this time. I'm trying to teach her the names of all the trees and flowers I know... "Forsythia" "Crocus" "Tulips" "Hyacinths" "Dogwood" "Rhodadendron". We look for birds.

Monday I took the day off and took them to the aquarium, Sunday was easter, and Saturday we spent picnicing and hiking in the woods. It's been quality time until you could throw up around here. In my mind I call it "Daddy Detox Time." Never out loud, of course.

Well, this morning, she woke up with a smile,picked out her own outfit and got dressed all by herself, and ATE BREAKFAST! She hasn't eaten breakfast all week. I asked her if she would like some water and she said, "Yes,please, Mommy!" I was so happy I wanted to cry. I told her I was so proud of her being so good this morning, and she said,"Mom, I've just been really, really tired. I haven't had good naps at daycare this week because the new kids won't take naps and bother me. I think I really needed that quiet movie time yesterday, and a good night's sleep. I'm feeling better now."

!!! My 5 year old just told me that she needed her naps!!! Knock me over with a feather. I'm thinking she's emotionally damaged and she was just tired!!!! Ok, I need to sit down. I'm so relieved.

1 comments

before || after