Written @ 5:12 p.m. on 2007-04-29
I'm too tired to think of a title

The children kicked my ass today. We had chocolate chip pancakes for breakfast at Perkins. We hit the mother of all garage sales at the Jewish Community Center (I'm jewish on the inside, although today I looked at my nordic features,straw hair and solid, wide birthing hips and declared myself "the Ultimate Viking WOMAN!"). P. brought a handful of dandelions in with her, and was randomly passing them out to volunteer old jewish ladies at the sale. P. is so GOOD at being cute. We scored a $2 Guess Who game, and some green neon earrings for N. 'cause we were out of green neon earrings.

My ex came by with his new puppy. He is a pug named Luke Skywalker. The dog, not the ex. Yay! Daddy is a hero! (I'm jealous.) I hung out with Luke and the ex went around the block with the girls on their bikes. I did not bring up coaching a softball team, but we were all on good behavior and he brought me $60 he owed me.

After bikes, we went to free day at the art museum. Oh, heaven. Art museum. Free. Music to my ears, it is. The Art Museum, unbeknownst to me, was displaying some of my work! Around christmastime we hit another free sunday, and in the children's area they were running a theme about ancestors. There was a little setup where you could trace a figure and then create his national costume, and all the kids had them tacked up on the wall in a mural. Super cool! Now, honey, there is nothing I love more than crafts. I am rabid for crafts. Give me the scissors and the glue children, I'm not above pushing!

I made a little Medieval Crusader, with a red construction paper tunic with a big white cross on it, a helmet, chainmail and a little teensy battle ax. Punk rawk! Anyways, the kids were playing at all the kiddie activities and I was pleasantly occupied. I tacked him on the wall and forgot about it.

WELL! Today we came back to the museum, then we wandered into the children's area. The theme was medieval times, one of my personal favorites. There was a big mural of a castle, and guess who was guarding the gate????

You guessed it, my little Crusader Man. Someone saved him from Christmastime. Knock me over with a feather! Hey! Does someone owe me money?! Of course I was like, "Hey! That's my guy! This is so exciting!"
The curator lady was not so impressed.

We came home for a late lunch, and then I decided to make little meringue cookies that look like mushrooms for Beltane. Beltane is a big wiccan holiday. Big, big. I read aloud from The Circle Round, which is this incredible book for pagan children, and they suggested these cookies. I am going to a circle tomorrow and it's a potluck, so perfect all around.

Not so much. They turned out weird and can anyone tell me what cream of tartar is, because the name is disconcerting?

Big sunday dinner of ham and macaroni and cheese and greenbeans, with mushrooms for dessert. The five and six year old set thought this was hysterical. B. came to dinner and the whole time they were teasing him..."mushroom cookies. No not mushroom in the cookies. Not really cookies. More mushrooms. Dessert mushrooms. With dirt on top. Yum!"

B. can hardly move because of the wrestling he has been doing. Hardcore, breaking the tables and smashing chairs on his head stuff. It's hard to watch, and I will write a detailed entry on his frickin' unbelievable show this weekend, but I am really. really. tired. from the puppies and the cream of tartar and the crusaders and the mushrooms.

Big love. Thanks for reading.

1 comments

before || after