Written @ 9:25 a.m. on 2007-05-11
What's Up at the Pizza Palace

Well, all kinds of things are cooking here at the Pizza Palace! We are stirring it up! : )

I have been putzing around with new career ideas. I went ahead and took the rural carrier test for the post office. This was a great adventure! Our damned government makes you take a two hour plus exam for the honor of working one day a week as an alternate for a regular carrier,and then, if you get really lucky, and a carrier quits or dies, you get a shot at a fulltime position. When the proctor explained how the deal goes down, about a quarter of the people signed up for the test walked out the door. But, with my new custody situation (gigantic grin) it might work out for me to work just saturdays for 17.50 an hour. We'll see if I passed the test! It was very challenging. I'm kind of cocky about taking standardized tests because filling in the bubbles is actually one of my special talents. I thought the test would be, you know, can you do standard math, can you follow verbal directions, can you read...but there was an address memorization section that just kicked my ass. We'll see. I'm not heart-set either way.

I just see myself idyllicly cruising down country roads, waving at the rope-skipping children, blasting some Lily Allen or Amy Winehouse ("They tried to make me go to rehab, but I said no! no! no!...") in the sound system, filling mail boxes and taking home my 17.50 an hour, right? How hard can it be?

I have been working on promoting my corportate errand service with my partner. I have several companies interested,and two scheduled presentations. Yeah baby! (Don't look surprised. I can do corporate presentations! What!?) I rock the cold call. I have some interest from a little company you may not have heard of...CRAYOLA! Yeah! The smell of new crayons is my favorite smell in the world. I'm really excited about this idea. It's making my nosering itch.

I went to the circle for Beltane, remember? Well, I threw out a couple of ideas to the group, and it seems like people might be interested. One was to organize a drumming circle, and one of the people in the circle thought we might make our own drums. That would be cool, right? Another idea of mine is to show our face at other area events, just to show solidarity. These people are really not doing too much, so I figure if we show up at other group's events we might raise some energy to eventually put on an event or two of our own.

(This is the problem with me, I get interested in too many things! I'm interested in everything! Ok, not golf.)

Yesterday was my 10 month anniversary of meeting B. He has never remembered our anniversary before, but yesterday when I stumbled into his bat cave, he made me close my eyes and he put a necklace around my neck. OOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHH!
B. has an income of zero, we all remember, because he is wrestling and running the training center but it isn't turning a profit yet. So, although he is attentive and affectionate, I have very few trinkets from B. This electric blue is my favorite color, and this necklace is very, very me and I LOVE IT! Happy day!

P. was home sick with me yesterday, and I got some take-out chicken and rice and beans from the Puerto Rican restaurant, and surprised B. and kidnapped him for a picnic in the park. It was a lovely day, and the park was humming with schoolkids cutting school. Tsk. Tsk. I was afaid I would spend my life as a poor, directionless, single mother if I cut school. Um. Yeah. But I didn't cut until after I was accepted to a competitive university! And then my ex would call in and say he was my father. Heehee!

I made B. a love note, and tied it with a ribbon, and tucked a flower from a dogwood tree into it. He didn't want to open it, he just held onto it. That boy! Love him!

My dear friend Pablo is coming for the weekend. We have been friends since we were 11 because our last names were next to each other in alphabetical order. We were always sitting next to each other for one thing or another. He used to have a beard in middle school, and everybody thought that was freaky! Pablo used to ride with me to exchange the girls with my ex when I was afraid. He's just that kind of guy. I can't wait for him to meet B. They are going to argue politics until they bleed.

Ok, time to make the donuts. I'm so happy. I can't take it.

0 comments

before || after