Written @ 9:09 p.m. on 2007-05-12
A day best put to bed

My friend Pablo is here for the weekend, and everything I turned to do to day did not go as planned. Wanted to go iceskating, no rink open. Wanted to go to a pagan faire, but a huge traffic jam got in the way. Wanted to go to the wrestling shop, but B's schedule got all turned around. I ended up feeling frustrated and like I was not a good hostess.

We did end up walking down to the Farmers' Market here in town. One nice thing about my apartment is being within walking distance to this gigantic "food mall" of an urban farmer's market. There is handmade candy, fresh bread, fruits and vegetables, japanese and mediterranean, southern style "soul"food, and of course everything that you could imagine from a Pennsylvania Dutch farm kitchen. They have organic meat and raw milk, local honey and hand-rolled pretzels. It's to die for! I've never seen anything else like it. I wandered through there with Pablo and the girls, tasting this and that, haggling and flirting with the vendors. It's a good time, and it was a beautiful morning to walk through the neighborhood. I LOVE food!

This afternoon we went up to the mountains. I showed Pablo the farm that I once lived on, and the house I brought P. home to when she was brand new. We went to the overlook and checked out the view. Green mountains were striped with tidy fields, and mistly clouds were actually below us from our perch. Everyone was getting whiny and tired, myself included. We lit a fire and cooked hotdogs and marshmallows on sticks. It started to rain, and P. said,"I don't mind! It's refreshing!" in a very grown-up way. So, we ate hotdogs and marshmallows in the afternoon drizzle, and finally felt like we acheived something with our day.

I'm bummed I missed the pagan faire. Pout. B's grandfather is in the hospital and I fielded several frantic phonecalls from B. B and his grandfather are best friends, closer than you could imagine, so it is especially traumatic for B. when his grandfather is not well, even though it is to be expected in one's nineties. I missed B. all day, and at times I really felt like I felt the nervousness he was feeling. Everyone will be ok, but I'm glad to put this day to bed.

Goodnight.

0 comments

before || after