Written @ 8:45 a.m. on 2007-06-01
Florida Scramble

This is what greeted us when I arrived at the vacation condo in Florida. My sister had arrived earlier in the day, and tacked this little sign up on the door of our room. Heehee!

It was a wonderful trip. We rented a condo with a canal and a golf course behind it, which did not sound very exciting, seeing as I don't golf or...canal, but the place was positively TEEMING with wildlife.I got a big kick out of that. We saw,just in our own backyard, geckos, two kinds of frogs,egrets, ibis, spoonbills, eagles, cardinals, lovebugs,turtles, fish, tadpoles, squirrels, and great blue herons. I DID NOT see an aligator, which I was expressly trying NOT to see. I know it's shocking, nature girl that I am, but I am a teensy tiny bit afraid of aligators. They are cool and all, in zoos, and in, say...africa, but not in my backyard. I also walked around in the jungle a bit on a path behind the condo. P. ran into some stinging nettles and we saw some beautiful, wild, huge pink flowers. P. made a centerpiece for our table out of hanging moss, seashells and flower petals. Very avante garde.

B. was confronted with my whole family, and he handled it with panache, considering he is terribly shy. My brother, his wife, and their son all live in central florida, and we were joined by...my mom, my sister, my sister-in-law's mom and dad, and her aunt and uncle, plus, of course, misc. friends, the girls and me! What a party!

My dad, you remember, was supposed to come. B. was going to meet him and be approved, and ask him, formally, if we could be married, but...well, my dad's flight was cancelled and he could not reschedule. That was sad. The family was a bit ticked at dad because he chose to stay in new york a couple of extra days to go to a motorcycle rally instead of come to my nephew's party, and many people, myself included, grumbled that it served him right.

EVERYONE likes B. Of course! Who wouldn't? He is so well mannered, and handsome, and does the polite small talk thing with aunties very nicely. We lay by the pool, walked on the beach, drank drinks provided by cabana boys, and slept in a bed larger than my old apartment. My brother and sister informed us that we were nauseating with our constant,"I LOVE YOU CUTIE BOOTIES!", but we did get into our first screaming match. My fault, as usual. B. wanted a book and to check out a music store, but we drove like, 20 miles past it and got lost. It was supposed to be a quick trip, and then we were going to meet the family at the pool, and I REALLY wanted to be there and not lost, and um, yeah. There was a loud walk from the grocery store to the car. We soon made up. I was surprised that it was so hard balancing everyone's needs in a strange environment. I think I was just a little hyper about everyone having a good time, and everyone loving B. and B. loving everyone. B.'s formost job lately has been to help me to chill.

B. went home Tuesday to attend to some wrestling business, and I headed over to my friend's house in southern florida, Kittress! We had a girl's night out, and I got TATTOOED! I soon had a phonecall from BO-SO (the tattoo artist and my friend) scolding me for letting anyone else touch me. How does he find out this shit so fast? It now says ART NATURE SPIRITUALITY on the back of my neck. The letter Is are all capital, and look like Ls, and everyone keeps telling me its spelled wrong, BUT now...wait for it....I have REALLY got eyes on the back of my head!! Hahaha!!!

Bo-so was crying last night, afraid that if I get married I won't be his friend anymore. Silly rabbit. I'll love him forever. I'll be faithful to B. forever, but my friendship with Bo-so is solid. Someday I would like to apprentice again.

Tons of adventures were had. I will write more later on that. When I arrived home, B. had cleaned my apartment! That was the best suprise! The girls are going to their dad's for the weekend. This is the first me-time I will have had in two months, and B. is throwing a barbaque at his house tonight to mark the occasion. YAY! There is going to be jamming on electric guitars and beers and, wait...did I tell you I ate aligator? See, just too much happened this week! It's all in a jumble in my head. Maybe sleep is a good idea.

(((HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY)))))
(((Prayers for Bo-So))))

0 comments

before || after