Written @ 12:12 a.m. on 2007-07-05
Fourth

Happy fourth of July!

It's midnight, I'm eating frosted miniwheats, and I think I just had my first party at my house! It is raining unbelievably hard. The streets are flooding and there were no fireworks to be had. So, since my mom came and things were pretty clean around here, I said,"Hey! Why don't ya'll come to my house and hang?" And everybody did. It was nice.

I'm telling the end of the story. Let's begin at the beginning (DAMN! It is REALLY raining!). The beginning of the day was bleak and dark. I was very upset to hear that my ex was spending the day in DC with his new wife and her kids, and MY closest friend from LA, and I had no money to do a thing with my kids. I was very upset that my ex didn't invite or even call the girls. I was very upset, frankly, that it was not me in DC with my girls and my friend from LA. I did some boohoo sobbing, which is totally ridiculous, because COME ON! WHY THE FUCK DO I WASTE TEARS ON THE PIECE OF SHIT? I should do a happy dance every day that I'm not married to him anymore. Sometimes I just don't listen. Sometimes I get upset even when I know I shouldn't, and THEN I'm upset for being upset. Fucking retarded.

So, my prince charming comes and scoops me up and introduces me to his punching bag at the wrestling shop. Man, I fucked that bag up. My knuckles are red and raw and scabbing over. I punched it and I punched it and I punched it some more! HIIIIIIII-YAH!!!! GRRRRRRRRR! ((((Barking like the Big Dog that I am)))))

Then I did some lifting, and some few hundred squats, and some silly little calestenic things until I was exhausted. B. says it's good for me, but I was still pissed off. If you know me, you will be finding this "working out" thing very amusing. Very non-Hil. I have noticed a slight delay in my exhaustion though, so that's cool.

Then, we went to a picnic at B.'s parents' house, with their friends, and it was all very sedate and small-talk infused. The food was good, though, and the girls looked sweet in their matching blue gingham dresses. I brought peanutbutter cookies. B's best friend, Silent Bob, was there.

Then, Silent Bob, B., Snowflake and her two kids came over to my house. I didn't know what to do with the kids, no fireworks being a letdown and all, AND experiencing an extreme limit in the cash flow area, but I had a stroke of brilliant genius! I made red, white and blue play-doh out of flour and salt, just like we used to when I was a kid. When I was a kid it wasn't red, white and blue. That was all me and my food coloring. I plopped three bowls in the middle of the dining room table and dumped my box of cookie cutters and ducked for cover. The kids loved that and dove right in and nary a moan was heard about missing the fireworks. Yay!

The adults drank beers and watched Batman cartoons, and I really had a nice time. The day definately had an upward curve.

I have a lot of cleaning to do tomorrow. Sigh.

1 comments

before || after