Written @ 12:01 a.m. on 2007-07-10
Rant Against Wuss-ness

Well, it's midnight, I'm high on caffeine, and everyone is asleep. Well, B. is out scratching his balls and banging his chest with his buddies, but everyone else is asleep. Come over and talk to meeeeeeee! I'm really really awaaaaaaaaaaake!

I had my first online class tonight. It's not independent study, it is actually a lecture and a powerpoint and chat. It is pretty much exactly like being there. I was impressed. The instructor is amazing. I keep getting these tech jobs, and I can't tell anyone my deep, dark secret.

Lean in.

Closer.

Here it is.

I am anti-technology and when all of their little machines die I WILL BE THE ONLY ONE LEFT STANDING. I can fish, I can hunt and I can build a fire using nothing but my eyeglasses and my belly button lint. I am plenty fat and I will survive without food longer than anyone else. Watch me. I know what time it is without a watch. I can't tell them this. You mustn't frighten nerds. I have to say, Oh, yes! I love gadgets! Give me a thing with buttons and I just orgasm just like all of you nerds! Oh god! My ipod! My ringtones and my onstar gps system! Oh oh! My Wiiiiiiii! I will take home my paycheck and laugh.

So, I took the girls to the creek today because again it was beastly hot. They were looking at tadpoles and these very interesting little silver and black beatles that were going in all directions on the surface of the water. They looked like little miniature bumper cars and they swim around all crazy-like. We learned the difference between a male and a female cardinal, and tried to sneak up on some mallard ducks. N. skipped stones and P. practiced her doggy paddle. They asked me to take them to the city pool, and I told them no, because the pool costs money. Now I realize how much more of an education you get at the creek, if you are looking. P. was floating on her back, toes sticking up out of the warm copper water, and exclaimed," I am relaxing and enjoying the beautiful nature!" I felt proud. I know that I have made a bunch of bad choices in my life, but I really am grateful to be able to watch my children bloom. I may not have my bills paid, but I definately have given my girls the gift of my time this summer. I have missed so much in previous years. Who needs cable tv?

I just read in the NYT magazine that there is a book out called Dangerous Games For Boys, or something like that, and it touts all the benefits of how boys used to play...hunting rabbits, shooting bbs, making go carts and crashing them. I worry that today's generation will be completely incapable of thinking for themselves because they always have an adult right behind them, making their world safe and comfortable. Or a tv telling them what to think.

One thing that I haven't yet imparted upon my girls is one that my father drove home repeatedly with me, and I think all of the past generations knew-it is ok to be uncomfortable. The world will not stop. If you are too hot, too cold, hungry for five minutes, or have a skinned knee...you will live, and you will be a stronger person if you learn to suck it up. I see everyone rushing to remedy every inconvenience in our society. I do it too. This breeds a world of wusses, don't you think? Our ancestors would laugh at us.

3 comments

before || after