Written @ 5:33 p.m. on 2007-08-12
Shopping Day on a budget of Less Than Zero

It is a beautiful day in Pennsylvania. I woke up at 4 am this morning to spend some quality, child free time with B. At the time it didn't seem weird. He is nocturnal, and I am decidedly not, so we sometimes must be flexible. This is one of the things I love about being a grownup. If I want to get up at 4 am to spend time with my sweetie, I can.

We watched the movie, The New World, which is one of my all-time favorites, and bored B. to tears. I just could NOT understand why he wasn't stirred by the beauty, the romance, the stoicism, the history. He was waiting for the car chase that never came. B. doesn't do subtle.

After watching that movie, I was on a nature-loving kick, and I decided that I must buy the girls fishing poles for the upcoming trip to upstate new york. Early this morning we went on the country drive to Cabella's, the outdoor outfitter's on acid. I've been hearing stories...they have a real, stuffed elephant ...they have giant aquariums of fish, like at sea world...it's bigger than IKEA...they hand out hundred dollar bills and loaded shotguns at the door...

If you are offended by taxidermied animals, this is not the place for you, but I really felt like becoming a card carrying member of the redneck aristocracy after shopping there. My dad is a Yale educated lawyer...but I'm white, broke, and like the taste of venizon. I REALLY need a sign that says,"Tornados or Trailers, which came first?" NEED. Or! Or! The baby dish set...little plate, little cup, little spoon...all camo! As the twig is bent, so grows the tree, ya'll. Venison chorizo mix? Antler drawer pulls? Bow hunting coloring book? We don't have this in the city.

At Cabella's, we aquired one midget-sized Batman rod and reel, with free light-up keychain, and one seven-dwarf-sized Disney Princess rod and reel, for 13.00 each. This is an early birthday gift for N., along with a promise from my dad to take her fishing. Beautiful. Everybody's happy.

Then there is the issue of shoes. N.'s beloved crocs met their demise when I told her to fetch some litter in a bucolic mountain spring. She sank in up to her waist. Which cartoon was it where people were constantly sinking in quicksand? Like that. Saved the kid, lost the shoes. Then we are looking everywhere for knock-off crocs, but it's back-to-school time, and no one has them. Finally I found some today at target...but in P's size. P. has crocs, N. has school sneakers, and I have an ugly yet badly needed new bra-there goes $35 that cried a little when they left my tight little fist.

Then, we entered the magical land of sunday afternoon garage sales. I'm good. I'm black belt at garage sales. Check this-
-THREE goosedown featherbeds, two twin, one queen
-2 sexy knitted halter tops, one maroon, one black
-2 long sleeved tees in like-new condition
-one cowboy hat for P.
-one Rudolph video for N. (is that wiccan?)
-3 cds
-Sublime
-Stevie Wonder, Innervisions
- Anthrax, Attack of the Killer A, which gave B. a jumping up and down heart attack when I surprised him with it
TOTAL- 5!!!! Bucks!!!!!

Tonight I'm wearing a sexy halter top, listening to Stevie Wonder, and sleeping on a cloud. It's all good in the hood.

0 comments

before || after