Written @ 8:35 a.m. on 2007-08-19
Longest Entry Ever

Yesterday was a really terrific day, but I have a bit of a hangover this morning, even though I didn't drink a drop! I'm still wiping the sleep from my eyes. The two children are in the bathtub with the bunny, without water, playing happily, so I can grab a second to write. I don't ask questions.

It was a cool, clear day, a welcome change from the heat and humidity we have grown used to. It reminded me of summer in the mountains of New York, with highs only in the 70s in august or june. Just down the road from me, I found that there was a Native American Pow Wow, open to the public, so I thought I would take the girls down there with me to check it out.

My goodness! What I would have done for a digital camera. There is not a very organized Native presence here, but everyone was representing their tribes from all over america. The costumes were intricate and beautiful, and the faces underneath were diverse-kinky african hair danced next to blonde, who might be next to your traditional idea of Pocahontas, hair swishing by her knees. Many senior citizens were dancing the traditional dances, and the sight nearly moved me to tears. There was live singing and drumming. I was so surprised to see this overweight, white looking, clean cut teenager open up his mouth and the sound of hundreds of years of Native traditional music just tumble forth to the beat of his drum.

It was a corn roasting celebration, and the boy scouts were helping roast the corn in a big pit. Many Natives had brought interesting crafts. In one booth I picked up a strange looking bone and said."what's this?" and they vendor got a twinkle in his eye. "Ma'am, that's the male part of a raccoon."

"What's a male part?" asked P.

"I'll let you field that one, Mama," said the man.

We wandered past dreamcatchers, silver jewelry, and turtle shell rattles, and I remembered that my ancestors had contributed to the tragedy of the Native American. My ancestors have also contributed to the tragedy of the Japanese in WWII much more recently, but I never feel the same guilt when I meet a Japanese person. Perhaps because we were less effective in Japan. Nuclear bomb doesn't work as well as small pox contaminated blankets. The scattered and diluted tribes in PA try to keep their traditions alive, but many are just guessing at what those traditions might be. So much has been lost.

I noticed a strange connection between Native Americans, and Harley motorcycle people. There were lots of both present, and they both like bandanas and silver jewelry, and dislike the government and the predominate culture. Interesting.

So, that was adventure one.

Adventure two was BoSo's moving completion party! BoSo had reserved The Pope's Table at Boca De Bepo's, which is a room decorated with Pope Memorabilia and a huge round table. Dinner is served family style on a lazy susan in the middle of the table. All day I was fretting that I wouldn't be able to go, because I had chosed to spend money on attending the festival, and I couldn't justify spending money on a sitter as well.

I called BoSo,"Noooo!,"he whined."Everyone is bailing on me! You have to come!"

"Well, then, I'm bringing the kids."

We got dressed up. The girls looksed sweet in matching pink dresses, and I wore a clingy blue wrap around number passed down to me years ago that I had forgotten I owned. And high heels. And stockings and everything!

Well, BoSo was pulling a fast one on me, because the table was made for 12, and we had 18 people there squished in, elbow to elbow! Then the food. BoSo ordered food, and ordered food, and ordered food! We had tortellini, garlic bread, three kinds of pizza, lasangna, fetticine alfredo, tiramisu...you name it! Every few minutes we would yell, "Watch your drinks!" and spin the lazy susan around for a different selection. Awesome!

Then they started taking pictures in the Pope's imitation thrown. Oh my. Hid the children. There was another little girl there about N.'s age, and they became fast friends. Babies were passed around. Deals were made. It was like the wedding in The Godfather.

Good times, good times, followed by the worst stomach ache I have ever had in my life. B, angel, got up in the middle of the night to go home and grab me some medicine, and then I was finally able to sleep.

Today the girls go to New York with my mom for a few days, and I will work all day and all night. Promise.

2 comments

before || after