Written @ 11:42 p.m. on 2007-08-20
The Kids Are Away

The kids are off visiting Grandma! Yay! I feel very old writing that all of a sudden. When did I have kids? When did my mom become Grandma? Well, we call her Granny. Nonetheless, they went off in a silver jeep to far, far away, with a whoop and a grin, and a "see ya later, Mommy!" I cried.

Then I got over it, and commenced working my ass off at all of the hours I can get, and spending every other second with B. Today was most excellent, except for one thing. I have turned B. on to the whole "The Secret" positve thinking thing, and he has turned quite nauseating. I was enthusiasticly grumbling about a broken windowframe which is, right this very second, letting the rain come into my house, and B. said,"It may be cold in the house, but that just gives us a chance to get under the covers and SNUGGLE!"

Stop. Let me interject, Little Miss Sunshine. I believe that cowboys do not usually "SNUGGLE", but I could be wrong...well, there is that Brokeback thing...hmm...

We got some birthday presents for N. today, who will be seven on the 30th. I love celebrating my kids' birthdays. We will be going to the American Girl store in NYC rather than having a party, and I already got her the fishing pole, but we got a couple little things. B. wanted to get her a Batman novel, which proved to be quite a challenge. There are adult ones that are very dark, and there are easy readers that are not challenging enough. I opened up one Batman and saw," designer drugs" "apocolyptic" "psychotic" "arsonist" "white supremacist" and I thought maybe we weren't quite ready for that. We went to a comicbook store, and two bookstores before we found one that met B's strict criteria. I was touched that he took the time. He is also drawing her a poster sized Batgirl, to go along with the Tinkerbell he did for P. Isn't he the best? : )

P. bought N. a combination set of many different star shaped earrings. I bought some glow in the dark bracelets, and three Choose Your Own Adventure books. My mom got her a subscription to the American Girl magazine, and a yearly pass to the local game farm/zoo, and a school outfit. She should be psyched.

We will be celebrating up north at my parent's camp in the adirondacks and will be back in time on her actual birthday, just in case her dad would like to see her. Which he has not intonated, as of yet.

My mom gave me the phone number of their dad's dad's girlfriend, which she had from way back. I may be able to get in touch with the girls' grandfather for them, which would be a blessing. I asked their father for his number, twice, and he refused. Liars like to keep people separated, so that they can't compare stories. The girls shouldn't be separated from their grandfather, though, just because they don't often see their dad.

Well, B. is here, and we are off to enjoy some midnight pie at a diner with some friends. Just because I can, with no kids in the house. Yay! Pie!

And then, I guess, some snuggling. Just because it's so cold in here.


PS. B. would like to voice an official objection to any and all Brokeback references.

3 comments

before || after