Written @ 2:49 p.m. on 2007-08-30
Thank Goddess for Fat Jeans

I am wider than I have ever been, and my clothes are too tight. I don't have money for new ones. This morning I thought to myself,"Universe, I need some new jeans. I don't know how you will deliver them, but please get me some jeans. Thanks, Universe."

Last night, the girls' Pop-Pop (grandfather on their father's side) took them out for a night on the town. Remember how I was trying to contact him? Well, he actually contacted me first! I am honing my telepathy. I'm only kinda kidding. He returned the girls with new school clothes, pants, shirts, underwear, sneakers, backpacks, WINTER COATS...EVERYTHING! I am so happy and grateful. THANKYOU UNIVERSE!

My mom also spent a bunch on clothes and shoes for them, and when she called this morning, she said,"Go ahead and return the sneakers I bought. If you try to save them they will be outgrown. Get something else you need."

"But I don't have the receipt," I said. I have the best Mom in the world. How thoughtful of her was it to think of that?

"They'll give you store credit. It's JC Penney."

The Goddess provides. I am now sitting here with new jeans on my cute, round hinney. THANKYOU UNIVERSE!

The girls wanted to go to the fair. I was feeling blue because I didn't have the money. They asked their Dad, and they will be eating funnel cake and riding the ferris wheel tonight. THANKYOU UNIVERSE!

I've decided it's ok to be fat, if...you don't let it slow you down and still get involved in athletic stuff, AND if you dress for it.

I took the girls for a walk in the park, and there was a young woman running by who was moments away from dying of anorexia. She lapped us three times. She was really running and you could see every bone and vein in her body. It took my breath away.

I spoke to the girls about anorexia, and how some people can think that they are fat no matter what. I told them that their brain kind of goes out of control, and loses touch with what is real. I told them that the best place to be is somewhere in the middle, where one can be the most healthy and strong. I told them that as a body starves, it uses every available resource, so your hair stops growing, and you stop getting a period. I told them they would be better to focus on being kind, and intelligent rather than how they look, that everyone has difficulties, everyone is different, and we, as women, need to have compassion for our differences and difficulties. What do you say when you see a corpse run by you, three times?

As we were leaving, another woman approached us, and she said,"I hope you spoke to your girls about that woman who just ran by! Girls, that is not pretty and everyone must EAT!"

So, I was given an opportunity to be thankful for my fat jeans, too.

2 comments

before || after