Written @ 6:46 p.m. on 2007-09-01
Zoo

Hi Everybodeeeeeeee!
I am working right now, but the calls are slow, so I thought I'd jot down some thoughts. Today has been a most excellent day, bright, sunny, warm, with a cool breeze and fluffy clouds in the shape of toasters, watermelons, and circus dogs. It is as if one imagined perfect weather, and poof! Here it is.

I was lucky to spend a good chunk of the day outside. N. was given a family membership to the little local zoo as a birthday present (again, my mom is the coolest), and so we three girls went out on safari in search of bison, zebras, and river otters. You really feel like you are on safari at this place because the zoo is at the end of a long, single lane track that curves around the side of the mountain. I had to remind myself to watch the road and not drift off of the edge of the cliff looking at the spectacular view.

It wasn't very crowded, and we got to get upclose and personal with many of the animals. I looked an ostrich right in the eye today. She was fascinating. I thought her feet looked like those of a t-rex. They also had this cool exhibit where they buried bones in the sand, and the kids had to dig for them, and then look at a chart to figure out what type of bones they might be. I had to become the mean mommy to get my kids out of the sand.

"Time to go! One minute! I mean it! I'm really leaving! I"M LEAVING THIS INSTANT! NOW! GET YOUR ASS OUT OF THE SAND!"

Anyways. I was interrupted by a guy in Malta who wants to buy a computer and avoid the overseas drama, and wants me to give him advice on how to dodge fees. What am I, a pirate? Dude, you have to pay the taxes.

ANYWAYS. I am reading a book. It has been a long time, I know. My brain is denegrating as we speak. It is a biography about Jim Morrison, and it is very interesting the way the unveil the layers of his personality. They give his sat scores, lists of books he read, and his brother and sister's recollection of the tortures he inflicted upon them when they were children. His brother had tonsilitis and Jim didn't like the noisy way he breathed, so while his brother was sleeping he would tape his mouth shut. Nice.

It is sort of like a collage of a person...his grades, his friends, his notes, his papers...I wonder what these sort of things say about me. I got a 710 on the english section of the SAT. Does that infer something about my personality? I forget was math was, not to be evasive, but I know is was much lower. Wait...in the recesses of my mind... 580. There you go. Fuil disclosure.

Meh. More tomorrow.

2 comments

before || after