Written @ 11:39 a.m. on 2007-09-23
A Poem! Yay!

Preliminary Notes On Brown Eyes

You have brown eyes,
brown as the thick crayons we used in kindergarten to make an up and down tree trunk, underneath a green circle of leaves,
brown as a fancy chocolate wrapped in a gold box (I wonder what's inside?),
brown as new shoes, with buckles,
brown as coca cola in a tall glass, softly fizzing if you listen,
brown as the shiny wood of my mother's grandfather clock-don't touch!

You'd think they'd have fireworks and marching bands,
and kaliedescopes and free hundred dollar bills,
as much as I like looking at them.
Who knew brown could be a heavenly galaxy,
expanding and consuming it's self,
creating and destroyng it's own self conciousness,
with caseopiea and the pliedes and all that stuff,
endlessly fascinating, infinitely interesting?
Who knew your eyes would be brown?

I plan to make a study of them.
The title of my exploratory research paper shall be-
My Love's Eyes, A Universe The Size of Two Pennies.

0 comments

before || after