Written @ 8:08 p.m. on 2007-09-23
Sunny Day

I told you it would pass. The depression has released, and, like a happy child clutching the tail of a dragon, this happy, creative feeling washed over me today.

I wrote a poem for B. It's in the previous entry. Don't laugh.

My ex took the girls today. He is doing the disney dad thing, lately. B and I got some lovely time together, and we decided to take a road trip through Carbon County, PA, to visit Jim Thorpe. The town, not the person. Jim Thorpe is a town set into the steep creases of several mountains. It is all trains, and gothic, victorian architecture and cute little artsy fartsy stores. There is a witch shop to die for there, and I am very lucky I am broke, because if I had money I might have hurt myself carrying all the stuff I wanted home. There was a mirror with the maiden, mother and crone etched into the frame...oy vey. I'm feeling vaklempt just talking about it!

(Didn't I just give a lecture to my children on greed and owning too many things?)

Every nook and cranny of this village is a thing of beauty. The houses are painted a full rainbow of colors, some with wrought iron upstairs porches, and some with real, old gargoyles. Even the weeds pushing through the sidewalk are pretty. After living in the poor, concrete,drive-by, drive-through, neon sign city, sometimes I feel my eyes need a rest. Jim Thorpe gives me a river, and mountains, and mums and creeping ivy. Ahhhhhh. It's creepy and vampires, and stones and history, and cutsey bed and breakfasty all at once.

I got to smooch my sweetie on the front lawn of a towering gothic mansion. "Will you LOOK at the MOUNTAINS!?" I shouted.
"Yes, I see them,"said B.
"I LOVE mountains! I know you see them, but do you SEE them?"
"I think you love the mountains like I love the ocean."
"Yeah, well, my name is HILL! We will have to live in Maine, or Hawaii so that we can have both."

It's nice to be happy. Sometimes it takes a lot of effort to shake off the depression beast, but it's worth it. A change of scene, a sunny day, a sweet man to kiss...my heart swells with gratitude. Thankyou, Universe.

2 comments

before || after