Written @ 7:06 p.m. on 2007-09-27
Rules

Today was Madam Commandant Mothering Day. We have four rules that I instituted today. I, like many parents, repeat the same things over and over on a daily basis. I admit, also, that I hold my children to high standards. I made a mistake in supporting this nauseating princess stuff. It's cool to be a princess sometimes, as long as sometimes you are also a cowgirl, an astronaut or a marine biologist. At our house, the princess killed the cowgirl, the astronaut and the marine biologist, and served them at her last tea party, minced, in small sandwiches. They were denied a christian burial and their heads are on stakes outside the princess' castle gate.

So, my four new rules are, made without deliberation, in the heat of anger (where sometimes I do my best thinking)-

1. If I take it out, I put it back.
2. If I turn it on, I turn it off.
3. If it's not mine, I don't touch it.
4. I am tough.

*Tough encompasses whining, crying, over-explaining, and hissy-fitting, from this point on, now illegal.

We made four signs with the new rules on them, decorated them with peace signs and hearts, and pictures of smiling family members, and hung them around the house.

1 comments

before || after