Written @ 7:53 p.m. on 2007-09-29
Things Happened, Finally!

Hello! I haven't had anything to write about for ages and TODAY I finally DO! Yay!

My mother received her inheritance, and she shared part of that with me. It's not a life changing amount, but I will be financially secure for the next two or three months.

You, more than anyone, understand how tight things have been. Buying groceries on 41 cents, remember? And selling my blood? Right. Well, what does this sort of destitute person do, when handed 3 months income all at once? First, they cry. Then they get a little nervous. What will I do? What will I DO? What if I lose it or squander it or it was all a big joke and the bank takes it for looking at them funny? Oh!

Then, they, said nameless destitute person, that is, starts paying bills. Oh! The bills I paid! Whoohoo!

THEN, said N. D. P. goes SHOPPING! FOOD SHOPPING! Fresh fruits and vegetables! ORGANIC! Fish and meats that are unfiddled with. Yeah, baby. This is the way I like to eat, whole foods. Healthy foods. What stops me from eating this way normally is three things-
1. no money-healthy food is more expensive than ramen
2.no forethought-the drive thru is just so, like, totally, there
3. depression-when I am down, I eat bad stuff

This brings me to my other major news of the day. I joined Weight Watchers. Weight Watchers reminds me of tupperware parties and station wagons, but they are, statistically the most effective food plan out there. I'm doing the core foods thing, which is pretty much...eat healthy, most of the time, stupid! I eat whole foods, and then I get 35 points a week to cheat. If you exercise, you can earn more cheat points.

Today, I ate awesome, healthy food, which I loved, and I feel great. The thing about whole foods, taking out sugar and white flour, is that it evens out your insulin production, making you feel fewer ebbs and flows in your hunger, and energy level. Definately worked for me. Everything can be journalled online, so I feel on top of my choices. I love that I can freak out and cheat, and then get right back on the horse with my points. Overall, I'm very psyched about the whole thing. I just hope I can stay this psyched, and can afford the good food.

I didn't realize how much the crap I eat makes me feel shitty. Just one day, and I feel a dramatic difference. If it stays this way, it will be easy to follow.

We walked to the farmers market today, with our canvas bags in tow, and I felt like I was doing a good thing. On the way, the topic of reproduction came up, and I expounded on the topic until the girls begged me to stop. I love talking about the birds and the bees with my girls, what can I say? I realized that my cousin started her period at 8, which is only one year older than N, so I better give her a few more details than just the surface information. N. was thoroughly grossed out. P. couldn't handle the fact that an 8 year old could have pubic hair.

"That is just totally...ugh!"
"I don't think this is going to go on with you at 8, but if it is going on with some of your friends, I wanted you to know what's up. I was eleven. Granny was 11. My sister was 14."
"Great. Thanks. Please let's talk about anything else. ANYTHING! Oh my, what a lovely day today is, don't you think?"

Deb sent me some AWESOME questions. I was so impressed, Deb. Thanks for sending them. Let's make this entry SUPER long, because work is slow tonight. I was thinking about my answers in the bathtub.


1. You have such lovely and lively little darlings. Which personality traits of each of your girls are you going to work on encouraging or discouraging?

First off, isn't that an awesome question? I think you must have been reading my mind, because I was mulling this over just today.

N. is very smart and very social. Recently, she has been acting LESS smart, and MORE social. This enrages me. I think it might be that she has figured out that she can get by acting like the other kids, and not going the extra mile to shine intellectually.

I did it. Not until middle school, but I definately hid my differentness.

Her homework is correct, but sloppy. She likes Batman, but not bats anymore. She can read way above her level but she comes home with "Babar." The frustrating thing is that if I talk to her teacher about this, I will get that blank look of a golden retriever. I don't know what to do.

I want to preserve her specialness and differentness, but I also have to give her respect for whatever survival techniques she has honed. Her childhood has been...challenging.

After much thought, I decided to wait and watch, and continue being my kooky self. Hopefully she will emulate my different drummer dance.

As for P., she is naughty and doesn't listen. I adore that about her and don't try to change it, accept when her health is at risk.

4 more questions later! Thanks Deb!

1 comments

before || after