Written @ 4:53 p.m. on 2007-10-01
B

Another excellent question by Deb-2. What is your favorite thing about B?

My favorite thing about B is also my least favorite. He is very un-dramatic. You know me, I'm a firecracker, and having been in relationships with other firecrackers, I know that double TNT can be lots of trouble. B. thinks before he speaks, and he definately thinks before he acts. For a long, looooooooong time.

This is excellent, because he is never sarcastic or pointed. He NEVER criticizes. If there are things that I do that bug B, he will either not comment on it, or pose it as a positive. Not just most of the time. ALWAYS.

For example, I lose things. Constantly. Its annoying to me, but it is infuriating to other people to watch me, for instance, look for my keys for ten minutes EVERY time I leave the house. I started out this way the first day I was given keys, and try though I might, I haven't been able to change.

B. doesn't freak out when I lose my keys for the hundredth time. He collects them, silently, and puts them by my wallet if he sees them around, and puts my keys and wallet on the kitchen counter where I can find them. Then, when I gave him a key, he made copies of my keys, and kept them on his keychain, so if they are REALLY lost, he has them. He locks the door when we go out, and I don't worry about being the adorable, irresponsible free spirit that I am. No discussion. No, "jesus fucking christ, I thought this was cute at first, but after a year you'd think you'd keep track of your shit!" Just does it. He is consistently present, patient and loving. It's nearly impossible to fight with him. I think we've had maybe 3 fights, all started by me.

That is the wonderful, amazing thing about B. Having grown up in the middle of domestic warfare, it astounds me how peaceful and mellow he can be. And, sometimes it infuriates me.

Sometimes I say to B,"Hey! Let's build a mud house in New Mexico, and grow wild flowers, and start a nudist colony!"

And he just looks at me.

"Ok, so New Mexico is not your thing. Let's go eat Middle Eastern food, and watch the belly dancers. In town. No New Mexico."

"I'm not sure about that. What kind of food do they have?"

"I dunno. Stuff that makes your hips shake like Shakira, I guess."

"Hmm."

"It will be FUN."

"Ok."

This is not to say that he isn't fun. He just takes a long time to get used to things. He never slows me down in doing the crazy things I love to do, and his wrestling stuff is off the wall, for sure. Remember when I was freaking out because I wanted to live at the cabin, and he said that he would follow me to the end of the earth to reach my dream? If I wanted to live at the cabin, go ahead. He'd visit. I have never had anyone love me like that before.

But, sometimes it is exhausting that he never says,"New Mexico! Yes! I, tool, thirst for adventure! Maybe we can bring a belly dancer with us, to help us start the nudist colony!"


1 comments

before || after