Written @ 11:30 a.m. on 2007-10-08
Wedding and The Beach

I just got a call from my girls, who are vacationing in the adirondacks this weekend with my parents, at the camp.
"We went for a ride in the canoe in the rain and we saw baby loons!"
"Were they on their mama's back?"
"One was! Granny made us poncho's out of an old tablecloth and every time that Grandy sang, it stopped raining. It was really fun!"
The whole conversation just made my heart swell. I am so glad that they are enjoying the woods just like I do.

I am alone with my lover for three days. The first days was his friend's wedding. I, for the first time in ages, had the priviledge to go shopping for something to wear, and I came home with a skanky outfit and a conservative outfit. Guess which one I wore? Short, black, white and hot pink. I wore red lipstick, and my hair with the sides swept up in pins like a 1940s style. I got B. on the dance floor for the first time EVER IN HIS LIFE! He had NEVER danced. Can you believe that? The guy is 1/4 puerto rican, how can this BE?

The wedding was not entirely fun, though. We argued all the way there because of his lateness, and lack of having a cardness, and his not knowing where his tie was-ness. Then, we had to sit with the girl who he was in love with for 15 years. The Unrequited One. She's exactly like me. It is very unsettling.

She is an artist and a production assistant on film crews. I am an artist and went to film school in LA. She has blue eyes and a turned up nose. I have blue eyes and a turned up nose. She is slightly chubby. I am all the way chubby. She's a bleeding liberal. I'm a bleeding liberal. She is cute and adorable. I am cute and adorable.

Her brother is B's best friend, and she and her whole family have known B since elementary school. And they were all at the wedding. And they were all at our table. And they were all looking at me. When I mentioned my two girls, the mom looked down her nose and says,"How old ARE you?!" Oh, I was hopping mad! I got to sit next to The Unrequited One the whole evening. When I told B that I was a tad uncomfortable, and he was totally shocked! (Men.)

"You seem so relaxed!"he said. "You were laughing and chatting and seemed to be having a great time!"

"What, you think I"m going to let her see me sweat? You are so naive to the politics of women..."I hissed.

Suddenly, she's outside with us, having a smoke.

"Hey! How's it going? Great party!" I grin toothily.
"Yeah! You look fantastic!"
"You too! Where'd you get those shoes?"
etc. etc.

When she had left, B said, "Well, now you know how I feel about you and Boso."

"B. I love you very much, but I will never, ever sit you next to Boso at a function, with his entire family, and expect you to coast along while we laugh at our own inside jokes."

Then there was much kissing and ego stroking, "you are the only one for me, baby"s, and dancing on the dance floor. This made things better, but still not the best time of my life.

Sunday we went to the Jersey Shore. Birthday money was burning a hole in B's pocket, so we set out for a road trip. The day was unseasonably warm, and it was just as busy there as if it had been a day in July. I took a day off of weight watchers, and ate up and down the boardwalk...caramel corn, french fries, pizza... We also rented a surrey, which is a cart that two people can pedal like a bike and look like total goofballs while they travel the boardwalk. I was VERY excited about being in the surrey. I even had a bell to ring at tourist who dared step into my path. I thought that was the highlight of my day.

Evening rolled in, and we shared some peel and eat shrimp at a local pub before strolling down by the water after dark. Suddenly, the town was desolate. Not a soul was on the street, or the boardwalk, or the beach. All of the multimillion dollar beach houses were dark. I had never been alone on a beach in my whole life. I left B behind me and I took off running down the beach, into the darkness. It was so dark that I couldn't see where my feet fell, but I was still going forward, faster and faster. It felt fantastic to be alone with the sand and the surf, and to feel fit enough to run. It was a beautiful and surreal experience. B. caught up with me, and we made love on the dunes.

We already had no pants on, so we decided to go into the water. I had a long shirt, and I figured, in the dark, no one would figure out exactly what they were and weren't seeing. I dipped my toes in, and actually, it wasn't cold at all. The water had been catching the sun all summer, and was quite warm. I figured that if I didn't do it all the way, I'd regret it, so I stripped off my top, too, and frolicked happily in the crashing surf. Naked under the moonlight, I was filled with joy.

B. watched from the sand, and was nice enough to give me his boxers to wear on the trip home, as my pants were wet from the original run down to the beach. Closing my eyes to the sounds of Marilyn Manson on the way home,I decided that was the most fun I'd had...ever.

Tonight the girls come home, and it's back to the daily grind. Sigh.

3 comments

before || after