Written @ 9:00 a.m. on 2007-10-21
All Good in the Hood

Today is your lucky day! I have adorably blurry pictures of the Halloween Hop! I think the blurriness adds to the halloween ambiance. What? What's that coming through the blurry fog? Could it be? Yes? No? It's my own little batgirl and a dahhling southern belle, with green vampire teeth! Hide the women and children! Ahhhhhh!

In other news, I am attempting to put dreads back into my hair, this time the proper way. I have an instructional dvd and all kinds of tools this time. B. spent the night sectioning my hair for the dreads, but, because I have insanely thick hair, that took hours and we didn't get to even start the dreads yet. Now I've got about a hundred little ponytails all covered in a blue bandana. It's dead sexy, baby.B. brought over Jacob's Ladder and Stir of Echoes. One is about government experimentation, and the other is about hypnosis, so we had lots to talk about while he worked on my head.

I am very excited about dreading my hair. No one else is. Not one single person is like,"Right on, Hil!" B thinks I've flipped my mind, but in the spirit of making me happy, is working his fingers to the bone (I am a grateful, lucky girl!) My sister gave me a diatribe about lame white kids trying to be rastas, and my mom was just like,"Please. Don't."

I have spent so much of my life not doing what I want to do, I am wearing my hair this way as an expression of my freedom. I am in control of my life, no one else. It is a celebration of getting custody, and my life becoming my own again. So, I may look silly, but I will be happy. Just like GeekBetty told me, I can drive down whatever mutha fuckin' road I want to.

(Note to self:I cuss WAY too much! I am out of control with that. Let's try to curb it just a bit, Hil.)

B. snapped a before pic of me in the bathtub washing with my residue free dread soap, and I will post it once he sends it to me. Don't get too excited. You can't see anything that you shouldn't.

B. has been a total God this week. BoSo comes back from Sweden today. That's all I have to say about that.

No hours at all from work. I'm getting nervous. I am good for another month, and then I need to get working. Hard. Universe, two more weeks of no hours, and then we have all the hours we could possibly need! I am envisioning myself enjoying work hours! Lots of hours! Come to me, oh work from home work availability! As I will it, so mote it be!

In other happy news, I got a $35 gift card to walmart in the mail yesterday! Surprise! It was a bonus that I had earned at my old job, and they just now sent it to me. Awesome!

Today is pumpkin picking with my favorite Aunt on the farm. YAY YAY YAY!

Life is good.

0 comments

before || after