Written @ 11:10 a.m. on 2007-10-25
Orange

I am seeped in fall goodness. I LOVE fall. Sleeping is so good in the fall. Food is so good in the fall. I love the golden orange leaves on the wet, grey sidewalk. I noticed this strange color combination, and I wondered, why does no one ever put grey and golden orange together in other situations? It is clearly beautiful. I imagine an old fashioned, 1940s style grey wool suit, Katherine Hepburn style, with a soft, silk orange blouse,untucked and open at the top, with black pearls.

Golden orange walls, a grey carpet and a grey, tweed mission style sofa, with Georgia O'keefe paintings on the walls, and a glass bowl of peaches on the coffee table.

A baby's soft grey blanket, embossed with a fuzzy golden orange pony, with yarn for a mane.

Strawberry blonde hair and grey eyes.

A calico cat.

I have so much imagination, and I never know what to do with it!

I was able to switch out of my mood yesterday. I spent $130 (fuuuuuuuuuuck!) on a top of the line vacuum cleaner because my carpet is bottom of the line, and is destroying my vacuums. With the proper tools, I was able to really dig into some cleaning, and move some stuff around. I have these gigantic orange stuffed chairs that were my grandparents, and were extremely chic in the New York, 1960s, modernist style they like, but now they are, just, really orange. But, I haven't been able to get rid of them because they are orgasmicly comfortable. I put one stuffed chair in my kitchen, in the theory that people like to sit and talk to me when I cook, and I like to sit and go over homework papers there. It's cool. In my kitchen, next to my black, wrought iron garden table (you know the kind with flowers that people often paint white and put in their backyard?) it looks cool. Martha Stewart, even.

My house looks much less arty than I am, because of the kids. I want the kids to remember a happy, cozy home rather than an avant garde (sp?) one. Plus, you know, social workers, who hopefully I am now free of.

Yesterday, I worked the phones for a few hours, and B. came and watched the girls. They are fine on their own, but I thought it would be nice to have someone if they had questions with their homework. It was raining and blustery fall weather, which is just about my favorite kind. I felt so cozy hearing my family playing in the next room while I worked. B. and the girls made pizza from a kit, and a special salad for me (although I ate pizza, too!). When I was finished work, my dinner was ready. It was beautiful. I always wanted to be a 1950s breadwinner, and come home to my cute little Suzy Homemaker, and my happy children. Maybe the old formulas aren't so bad after all. I guess I'm just so, so tired of doing it all.

Dreadlocks are a work in progress. Pictures to follow.

Nasty emails from my ex, truly Alice In Wonderland insane.

I was very happy to notice changes in my body since I have started this food program. 9 lbs down. My only troubles with staying on it are eating out, and B's pizza. If the food is there, I eat it, but when I plan my own meals, I have no problems.

Wow, I can write a lot and say pretty much nothing. Happy fall to you and yours, Hil

4 comments

before || after