Written @ 12:23 a.m. on 2007-11-13
Chocolate Dim Sum, Dreadlocks, and Cabbage Patch Dinner Parties

Well, the money is running out, so it's time to get back to work. My ex has not paid child support this month. This week I am in a training all night, every night, for little pay. I asked them if I had to take this course...they informed me I only had to take it if I wanted to keep my employment. So. I'm getting edjamakated this week, then it will be bam-bam-bam with the working hours. Today I worked a couple of hours while P. was in kindergarten. I love the flexability of this job. I just need to learn how to live SIMPLY (which is supposed to follow my values as well as my finances) and also learn a bit of DISCIPLINE. Working from home, I have no boss telling me what to do. This is awesome, of course, except I have to keep myself from being a totally slacker and hold myself accountable. My expertise lies in getting out of stuff, with a minor in not getting caught, so this is a whole new ballgame. Being grownup is hard. I'm so unprepared!

I started making a tattoo style pillow for my little nephew last night, while B. was working on my dreads. This one won't say "Fuck You", don't worry. Imagine, B. sitting on my white ikea couch, with his sexy new cowboy boots on, working on my hair while I sit on the floor, drawing. We watched "Pan's Labyrinth" and I was literally shaking with fear. I love how that movie respects the reality of the child's imagination. It is equal, and just as scary as, her real world. B. is still working on dreads. They are skinny, and my hair is thick, and our goal is to have it all done by thanksgiving.

I'm trying to get Christmas stuff done by thanksgiving, too, then I can give to all the extended branches of my family that live all over the freakin' planet when I see them. We won't be getting together for Xmas, unfortunately, so actually, Thanksgiving is going to be the bigger deal for me. I'm pretty psyched about the pumpkin marmalade...even P. likes it, and she doesn't like anything! She's a straight chicken nugget kid.

Lots of my childhood friends will be there. My best friend, the hippy in vermont, alluded to the fact that she might come down from her mountain hideout if I am going to be in town, and my dear friend, Pablo, promised to come to dinner. I have lots of friends, the problem is, none of them live in my town! We did get an invitation to a dinner party, yesterday, from my cousin. She is from San Fransisco, and is into vampires, so that should prove very interesting. People don't have dinner parties any more, or, if they are, they aren't inviting me! I think I should have one, and begin a resurgence of this quaint tradition! Oh yeah, then there lies the problem of me not having any friends in town....hmmm....maybe I can use the girls' cabbage patch kids for friends....

Today B. insisted that I stay in bed once he discovered how sick I still am. That was so nice. He oversaw homework, and got takeout for dinner, and tucked me firmly in. I had a dream that I was at a very fancy restaurant that specialized in the most obscure and exquisite chocolates available. It was kind of like chinese dim sum, only with chocolate! I liked the place so much, I decided that I wanted to work there, and then I dreamt about attending training classes at the chocolate restaurant. The service was the finest, of course, and every member of the staff must be impeccable. What an amusing subconscious I have.

5 comments

before || after