Written @ 3:18 p.m. on 2007-12-01
Mt Everest to Michael Jackson

"Feel the plentitude. God has given you plenty, and will give you much more. Why be tense about that?" H.H. Sri Sri Ravi Shankar

So, I use a mac, and you get this cute little do-dad with the mac called The Dashboard. You can put various little resources there, like a thing that tells you where the cheapest gas in town is, translators, games...stuff. I have a little guru type guy who tells me his wisdom on my dashboard("Of course you do, Hil"). Today, he tells me to "feel the plentitude." Is that a word?

It is amusing that this is his message for me at this very moment, because I made a little banking error that will be costing me greatly. It's cool. Shake it off. Feel the plentitude.

Saying that are currently my favorite:
1. Everybody likes to kick ass.
2. Feel the plentitude.

Today we walked down to the farmer's market. When the wind was at our back, it was fine, but the trip home was BRRRRRRRR-utal. I was goofing around with the girls, trying to encourage them to go on, by pretending that we were superheroes on an arctic mission. P. was "Super Freezie", and N. was "N. The Skier." Be afraid. A little old woman observed our shenanigans and said,"God bless you all." Obviously, she knows that we are all insane.

When I was a little girl, I was obsessed with Mt. Everest. I just thought the whole concept was scary/cool. Last year, I rented a DVD that was about the most recent deadly trip up Everest, and watched it late at night when I thought the children were sleeping. P. woke up and wandered in, and I let her watch a little bit. She sat quietly until we got to the part where the guys hands froze and had to be amputated, and his face froze, and turned completely black. She turned to me and asked me earnestly,"Are they there because they want to, or because they HAVE to?"

"Nope, these people do this for fun,"I told her.
"I will not be doing that,"said P.

While we were walking today, my hands went from really cold, to burning hot. I turned to the girls and said,"Look, my hands are hot now, and red. I think that means I'm really cold."

P. and N. looked at their own hands. "Mine are still white. I think red is ok. When you get really cold, you'll turn black."

"Yeah, I'm not turning black yet."

Hmm...so, yeah. I thought about how that might sound if overheard by the PC police. "Kids! Put your mittens on! If you get too cold, you'll turn African American!"

Maybe, and I'm just shooting from the hip here...

Maybe.....

Michael Jackson got too warm?

1 comments

before || after