Written @ 7:51 p.m. on 2007-12-07
Parrrrr-tay

I'm tired of painting myself as the long suffering baby mama, but it seems to me I have been the long suffering baby mama, so, in the spirit of honesty, that's what I've got to write about.

It's friday, and that's complain about the ex and his shenigans day! ((canned applause)))

Friday is Dinner with Daddy Day....
a) he showed up in his pimped out silver Dodge Ram, gave the girls a big hug, and gave me my back child support in full
b) he spoke to the children's teachers, apologized for missing their conferences, and shook my hand for helping them produce such stellar marks
or c) he waited until the last minute, cancelled his scheduled visitation, and also arranged with me to NOT have the girls visit him over Christmas, which was the previous plan

If you guessed C, you are correct. The girls were disappointed for no good reason, again, and nobody wins anything.

I don't want to talk about it.

In other news, we are having a party on Sunday and anyone in the mood for a road trip is welcome to drop by! It's from 2-5, email me for directions. It's a cookie exchange, so everyone brings some christmas cookies, and then we swap, and bring home a little of everything. I got a little over zealous with my invites, forgetting I kind of have a small apartment, but I've got fun planned. We'll just squish.

Food-
chips, dip
tortilla chips, chili and cheese dip
veggies and veggie dip
kettle corn
summer sausage, cheese, crackers
and, of course, cookies

Drinks-
soda
Wassail, from a recipe from Williamsburg, which is a family tradition (think hot sangria)
beer
hot chocolate

I have a Craft for the kiddies-
Supplies: sugar cones
green icing
candy
Turn the sugar cones upside down, coat with icing, and then decorate your Christmas Tree with candy "ornaments". Too cute!

I'm planning on putting a card table up in my bedroom for that, so that we won't be so crowded, and the kids can get green icing all over my bedroom, I won't care!

People, tell me what I am forgetting? B's mom brought be curtains for the bathroom. I thought it was amusing to let the neighbors see my hiney occasionally, but apparently B's mom isn't an exhibitionist. Conservative pennsylvanians. Can't even get a thrill from flashing the neighbors. Tsk. But it was terribly nice of her to buy me curtains, wasn't it?

Invited Guests:
-This lovely couple and their daughter, who is in P's class. We always walk to and from school together. They are older parents, but they are a riot! They always get B. and me laughing.

-The mormon family down the block, the one who lets their kids ride bikes with mine. How many of their eight children will they bring?

-My favorite aunt (the one who I am slightly obsessed with, with the sheep farm) and her daughter, (who is the one who invited us to a "dinahhh pahhhhhteee", and is also extremely cool)

-Another couple from down the street, who also wrestle with B. The guy is a bouncer who carries B' around over his shoulder potato sack style when he gets out of line, and the girl is a sweet, 22 year old asian chick.

-B's mom and dad

-Snowflake, and her extremely unruly children (yikes!)

-My saintly daycare provider, and her niece, who is N's age

-My favorite muslim wrestler, because he is my favorite, and I like him

and, I think that's it. 18 ish? If they all come? I'm not feeding them a meal because there is no place for them to all sit down.

This is what I need help with....the flow. When to feed, when to water, when to craft the children, etc. I guess I'll play it by ear. Any way it goes down, it will be something to remember. I'll try to remember to get B. to take some phone pics.

oxoxoxo, Hil

3 comments

before || after