Written @ 9:21 p.m. on 2007-12-09
Here we come a wassailing

What up, dawgs?
I taught my 60 year old white guy of an uncle to say "chillin'" today, and that, my friends, is a day well spent.

The cookie party was good and bad. Half of my friends didn't show up. It's kind of stressful to have to make cookies and come to a party, I know. I just wish that people would call. That's all. I'm constantly ranting about this "class" thing. No the class that comes from who your daddy is, but the class that your mother was supposed to teach you. I really, really have been up on my high horse about manners, and the lack there of. Look people in the eye. Put your napkin in your lap. Say please and thank you. Don't wear a do-rag to a job interview. Cover your bellybutton if you are going to court. Acknowledge my stupid cookie party invitation. God!

But, the people who did come were the awesomest people, anyways, and we did have a right swell time. My walking-to-school family were just a riot, and stayed until the very last, drinking beers and telling stories. My cousin and aunt and uncle came, and B. and his mom. I have about 700 cookies now, because no one took as much as they brought. I'm thinking some will make a nice holiday gift for the teachers.
*More manners from Hil The Thrill-give the teacher something at the holidays for putting up with your snotty kids all day.

I drank the wassail, which was lovely. Warm red wine is a very nice thing. I didn't get any pictures, but it is good to have the house VERY, VERY clean. Like in the corners and everything.

Pop-pop took the kids all morning and loaded them down with christmas presents. YAY Poppop! Poppop's girlfriend (of 25 years) even baked cookies, and didn't stay at the party. Can you BELIEVE? That was SO kind of her. That is WAY MANNERLY! I spent a HUGE amount of money on gifts for them, because I don't know them really, and I just had no idea what to do. I got a sweater for her, and a football team fleece jacket for him, plus some christmas ornaments with the girl's pictures in them. I just want to show them that I am grateful for them maintaining a relationship with the girls, regardless of the drama with the children's father. It would have been nice if I could have made something, but I just haven't felt the crafty bug lately. Too lethargic. I have been really blessed that they have come back into the girls' life. ((Christmas warm fuzzies)))

You know another cool thing about parties? Leftovers, and I have lots. I love cheese and crackers, and day old potato chips n dips. And I've still got wassail. Wanna come over? Quick, while the house is still clean?

I think I'm a little inebriated, because writing this is taking more focus than I have. Or maybe I'm tired. xoxox Love and Joy come to you!
And to you your wassail, too!
And God bless you and bring you
A happy new year! And God bring you
A happy new year!

2 comments

before || after