Written @ 2:47 p.m. on 2007-12-11
Xmas Spoilers

Ho ho ho.
B. is in a bad mood. For, like a month. His business partner just handed the whole business to B. and took off on his merry way. This partner owned a wrestling shop, and thought it would be cool to have a training center in the back. He put up the collateral, and B. did the rest. Every now and then, the partner liked to make decisions that were very, very dumb, and B. had to go behind and undo them, but now the money is also gone with the man. This new situation, obviously, will be a blessing and a curse. It's feeling like "curse" will come first, hopefully followed by blessing. B. is scrambling around trying to do the jobs of several people, and trying to find all of the places that his partner messed up, and fix them. The expanded amount of control will be fantastic, but I have this visual in my mind of picking up the dropped stitches in a knitting project. B.'s trying to pick up dropped stitches, and not very happy about it.

Plus, you know, the holidays are stressful on we of insubstantial income. I bought two heinously commercial and tacky, made-in-china "Betsy Wetsy" knock-off dolls for the girls for christmas. The media pressure was just too great. Commercials were viewed. Begging commenced, and my daughters will be proud owners of two dolls that PEE. Yay.

What is the attraction to dolls that tinkle? I know that my kids aren't the only ones. I know this phenomena has been going on since the 1970s, but come on, I've had two real babies that pee! It's not that exciting!

It's ok. My mom got them LL Bean flashlights that go on your head. Headlamps. Oh yeah. I've been wanting to take them on evening walks, but I was hesitant to take them without flashlights. With headlamps, we are also prepared for spelunking, in case the need arises.

Which it so totally might.

And then we have the American Girl frenzy. We bought a ton. I am not one for brand allegiance (because my leftist parents taught me it's WRONG!) but I do love anything put out by American Girl. I was looking at a book put out by them that I purchased for N. a while back...actually, I think BoSo got it, and it is a book on goal-setting. For 8 year olds. How awesome is that? It talks about how to turn your dreams into a reality by using visualization, breaking it down into small steps, and perseverance. Does Barbie do that for ya? I don't think so!

Ok, I'm done working, and so done with sitting in front of the computer...here's an excerpt from my day...
"Does the iphone work in India?"
"No sir, only with AT&T in the US."
"But not in India?"
"No, I'm sorry. Only in the US."
"But, I think it can work in India."
"Most phones can be unlocked to work overseas, but not this one."
"But.."
"No."
"But..."
"No."
"But..."
"I'm not lying to ya, buddy. Here it is in writing on the website."
"But..."
"Well, actually, let me check...NO!"


1 comments

before || after