Written @ 12:54 p.m. on 2007-12-13
Yous Shovel

The whole family is embracing a new member. They figure, what else can they do? I'm not. Not that I'm anti-an additional cute kid in my family. I'm anti lying, cheating, and baby stealing. Did I mention that the kid calls my sister "mommy"? That doesn't sit right with me. He has a mommy already. That Mommy may be drug addicted and unfit, but she is his mother, and until she signs away all parental rights, she remains his mother.

I think that I am going to end up being the "bad guy" here, for not being unconditionally forgiving. I just don't have time for people who lie to me. A lot. For years.

I don't want to talk about that anymore. I've been fixated for two days on that.

TOPIC SWITCH

We are having an ice storm. We've had gentle snow, and stinging sleet, freezing rain and even hail. Rather than risk the roads, I walked the girls the mile down to B's house, where they will be spending the afternoon baking cookies with B's mom. We slipped and slid past the elementary school, past all of the tidy brick row homes that are all decorated for Christmas. When I returned home, the pizza guy was yelling out his front door to two boys,"Ay! Wanna free lunch for yas? If yous shovel dis sidewalk, I'll feed yas for nothin." You could smack his Brooklyn accent with a stick. The boys, of course, jumped at the chance, and now the walk that I share with the pizza shop is all clear. Sweet. I know that I complain about living here an awful lot, but today I really appreciated my neighborhood. Being able to walk to B's mom's house, being able to work from home, being above those goofy guys in the pizza place....its very nearly heartwarming, this being part of a neighborhood. I've moved so often, I'd almost forgotten.

1 comments

before || after