Written @ 9:13 a.m. on 2007-12-21
Don't tease the Amish. Much.

So, I have to go to my grandmother's house for a family get together on Saturday. I really don't have much fun usually with this side of the family. This time I won't have a baby to hide behind like I did at the funeral ("memorial service"), so I thought I might be able to hide behind a pie. At least at the introductions part, which is usually the most painful.

After dropping N. off at school, P. and I head to the Amish stand at the farmers market. They sell the most unbelievable, over-the-top baked goods. Holy Cow! So, P. and I, after considerable deliberation, decide on a pumpkin pie. A nice Amish lady in a long patterned dress, an apron, and a white bonnet waits on us.

"Just the pie, then? Or is there anything else?"she asks.

"Well, I guess we might need one chocolate eclair, since you are making us!" I tell her, smiling sarcastically.

She blinks, and stares at me. In her german accent she says, without even cracking a smile,"I don't think I made you."

I flash her my evil, worldly grin, and say,"Oh, yes. You Amish can be quite pushy."

No response from the nice Amish lady.

Ahhahahahahahahaahahaha! What? Is it my fault the Amish don't appreciate my sense of humor? Apparently, along with renouncing cars, they also renounced New York style sarcasm. Can I help my culture?

Hahahaha! You Amish can be quite pushy! Oh my god! I kill me!

Voice of my mother:" Hil, that is NOT funny. They are a peaceful, loving people who never bother a soul."

Voice of me,"Ok, Mom. Sorry."

4 comments

before || after