Written @ 8:12 a.m. on 2007-05-01
Melissa

Good Morning Sunshine!
Beltane is here, a welcome to the lusty month of may, a day of fertility, creativity and love. I went to a circle last night. I was new there, and I felt a little sad because the ritual took about 10 minutes and was read off of computer printouts. Everyone wore regular clothes and ate regular food from the grocery store. Sigh. I'm getting self-righteous in my old age. It's Beltane! Time to dance and laugh and drink and be merry. These people were like,"Uh, this is where you dance, I'm not going to do that. This is where you jump the fire, I'm not going to do that because I'm wearing a skirt. I don't want to go to that festival because I don't like camping and getting dirty..." My eyes were just getting narrower and narrower as I listened.

It was cool to be outside, though, and they had a really nice outside circle in their backyard. I've just gotta teach them how to USE it. Self-righteous, I know.

I miss my friend Melissa. After I left my husband she was a huge help to me staying alive, and then I acted like an idiot and I haven't heard from her since. Journal writing seems empty without her encouragement.

0 comments

before || after