Written @ 12:08 a.m. on 2007-07-18
Misc.

Took my class, and sketched all the way through it. Haha! Internet class! You can't see me!

I took a little quote from that new book I got, Earth Prayers (yeah, underlining and all that...) and created an image of a hand, coming up out of the water, and catching a falling stream of water...and the quote says,
"Water flows over these hands. May I use them skillfully to preserve our precious planet"-Thich Nhat Hanh
Nice. Sigh.

I had an excellent day today. I had no homework, yay! I walked down to the uber-trendy coffee shop with the girls this morning, and we had an uber-trendy breakfast. The girls played checkers and I pointed out points of interest in a book on the shelf there on ancient egypt. Imagine P., age 5, incredibly picky eater, trying to navigate eating biscotti for the first time. Priceless! Speaking of prices, they had none posted, so I just started getting all kinds of things, and then realized I'd spent a mint. Opps! I like supporting non-starbucks local business, but there's a limit! It was ok, though, because I found money in my jeans pocket today. Thankyou Goddess! You rock!

I like walking. We walk to the farmer's market, the trendy coffee shop, the school playground or the gas station for gum and candy for the girls. No one walks anywhere in my town. No one talks to neighbors and no one is friendly. I am starting my own revolution by 1. Letting my kids play outside, and say "hi" to passersby. Oh, boy, does that ruffle feathers. 2. Walking all over the place. 3. Smiling and making eye contact, which is often viewed as a direct threat, as it is with dogs. (Did I call my neighbors dogs? NO! I'm saying with the eye contact thing, it is similar, that's all. Don't imply.) Viva La Resistance! I think the whole stranger danger thing is directly related to the breakdown of neighborhoods. If you know people on your block, then you know if the wrong people are in the wrong places. If EVERYONE is a stranger, than how do you know if something is unusual or out of place? My mother taught me to always watch what is going on around you. That has served me well throughout the years, in the country and in the city.

I hung out with some interesting friends of BoSo's today. It was nice to just socialize. I do get a bit isolated working from home and all. I'm afraid that I have nothing to talk about other than babies, but oh well!

I cooked a fabulous stirfry lunch with broccoli leaves. I got this great farmer's market broccoli, and the leaves looked so delicious, so I stirfried them! Turns out this is something other people have done, and we didn't die. They were quite good, although the children were irked by the extreme healthfulness and over- abundance of green.

I won some exercise equipment on freecycle. I ate dinner at B's moms, and had some amazing beans and rice that takes five hours to make. I have the most supportive, attentive and wonderful fiance. My class was not too boring tonight. As I look at it, it really was an incredibly fantastic day! I was so busy enjoying it, I didn't realize how much I enjoyed it!

I think my mind is lightened quite a bit after my epiphany about my ex. There's nothing I can do about him. I can finally stop trying. It's a relief.

I'm taking bets on whether he will actually take them to michigan. Anyone?

It's one in the morning. A great day must come to a close.

1 comments

before || after