Written @ 9:49 a.m. on 2007-11-20
El Show-o Nada

So, I went to parent conferences today. I drove. I like walking in snow, but not rain. I was on time. I wore my locks in a high ponytail, grey pinstriped pants, a pink tee, and a cute, short black wool jacket. I acessorized even, which is definately a special occasion thing with me. I have massive bags under my eyes, and my voice is scratchy.

N's teacher she has had for two years, so she really knows N. She was very complimentary, and informed me that my daughter is a Super Genius. I told the teacher about her afternoon grumpies, but the teacher said she maintains a positive attitude in school and is an all around swell kid.

P's teacher spoke in a little tiny kindergarten teacher voice, like a cartoon character. That was annoying. She told me that P. is extremely well prepared for kindergarten, can count to 100, and knows 25 out of 25 of her sight words. She also told me that she just adores P, and that she is especially kind to the other children. Awesome. Seriously, I am so proud. Well done, girls!

Of particular note: My ex did not show up.

Yep. After all of that anxiety, no show. El Show-o Nada.

I will not try to read into this. Speculation has gotten me nowhere. It might be that he decided to move to Argentina this week, and not tell us. We never know.

Last night I spent some time in the bathtub with my Depression Workbook, and I decided that I have been mildly depressed for some time now. Not suicidal, I hate my life depressed, just extremely uninspired and lethargic. Because I was not suicidal type depressed, I didn't even realize that I was going down this path. It is hard for me to do anything lately. I just want to stay in bed. Last night I was wakened in the small hours to the sound of B. washing our dishes and running the dryer. He may be nocturnal, but nocturnal housecleaning is A-ok to me! It had been getting out of control. What lottery did I win to have a B. in my life? Thank God for him.

It's rainy and dreary, and I want to get back in bed.

2 comments

before || after