Written @ 9:35 p.m. on 2007-12-03
I didn't have to use my AK

Today was a great day. Nothing particularly great about it, but I felt good, busy, in the right place at the right time, useful even.

Here is what a great day looks like-
7:30 rise to the sound of the phone ringing. B. was calling to tell me to get up, and take my kid to school like a responsible american. He comes over (hadn't been to sleep yet...still nocturnal), and commences to throw up in my bathroom. Loudly and with much vigor. Help N. pick out an outfit, pack lunch, check homework, remind the motherly sort of reminders,feed breakfast, hug and kiss, cluck over B's condition. He is bald, and therefore has no hair for me to hold back. He takes N. to school on his way home to spend the rest of the day in bed, in the quiet of his studio.

8:15 Back to sleep to the sounds of P. making oatmeal in the microwave. She knows how to press the buttons for one minute and thirty seconds.

9:30 Awake. Laundry. Tidy things. Check email. Put some clothes on. Make toast in the oven as a special surprise, since our toaster kicked the bucket, and P. LOVES toast. She declines. Stuffed with oatmeal. Eat the toast all by my lonesome.

10:30 Go to my spanish speaking bank, and wonder why I go to a spanish speaking bank since I don't (really) speak spanish. Wonder why everyone in this town is so hostile. Cual es todos los personas enojadas en este ciudad?? Try hard to be nice to the bank lady. P. gets a lollipop. Decide that I am quite clever since it snowed yesterday, and I didn't drive my car all day, so I didn't have to clear it off. By today, the snow had melted. Ha!

11:30 P. goes to kindergarten. It is cold and blowing so hard it startles me.

12:00 Work. Work. Work. Would you like an ipod? Would you like an iphone? Sure! I'd be happy to help you with that! I'm not hostile! I'm friendly, friendly, friendly!

2:30 Breaktime! Grab some soup. B., awake from his daytime slumber, brings the girls home. They do their chore of hanging up their clothes on hangers, and start homework. B. falls asleep in my big orange chair. The girls cover him in a baby blanket, and give him a cabbage patch kid to cuddle. Adorable.

3:00 Grab another hour of work (friendly!), and then take the girls through the drive-thru at McD's for pumpkin pies and free waters. Girls decide that I am the best mom in the world for giving them McD's pumpkin pies and free waters. Then, we all head to the gym. At the gym...wonder why people in this town are so hostile, and read an article about Kevin Federline on the eliptical machine.

5:30 Go to the ghetto grocery store. Wonder why people in this town are SO FREAKING HOSTILE?! Why are we screaming at our children in the grocery store? Why do we push? Why do we look so "off meds"? Buy soup and crackers for B's sick stomach. Try hard to be nice to the checkout boy. Buy a nature DVD for a dollar about the ocean. The kind with a british narrator. The british are so educational. N. tells me about her countdown to christmas at school, and we have a talk about separation of church and state. N. begs me not to call her teacher and huff.

6:00 Make a pot of chicken soup (by opening 3 cans...oh, I slaved!). Whole wheat crackers and cheese. Sliced pears. Call B. and tell him to come over and eat. We all sit in front of the TV ( a special treat) because we cannot wait to watch the fish movie. Snuggles. Fish.

7:30 Homework. N. had to make a book about her family's holiday traditions, and we received a letter telling us "ever family celebrates differently", so I felt less huffy, and got excited about making our book. Got out a family wicca book, and read a bit about Yule to the kids. They were digging that.

8:00 Kids to bed, B. to work, back to work for me(friendly!).

A pretty good day. I think maybe it was the cheese and crackers that put it over the top. Or the fish. They were some cool fish. Today I learned that I spend a lot of time trying to be nice to people who are not nice to me, and that I ate a lot of soup.

1 comments

before || after